Faculty Senate Meeting September 3, 2021 11:30 am - 1:00 pm MINUTES

WebEx Link: <u>https://tamusa.webex.com/tamusa/j.php?</u> <u>MTID=mbfe152acb5acc37366d6e46c41f4eccc</u>

In Attendance: Joseph Simpson, A. Lodgher, Sabina de Vries, Amanda Lindner, April Najjaj, Ashley Teufel, Bob Shelton, Brandon Earwood, Brian Brantley, Chin-Yen Liu, Catherine O'Brien, Cynthia Matson, Daniel Delgado, Dawn Weatherford, Denise Trevino, Esther Garza, Elizabeth Leyva, Eun Kwon, Gene Morales, Gilbert Barrera, Ho Huynh, Jacob Hardy, Jacquelyn Traeger, John Scott, Justin Korver, Karen Kohler, Katherine Bridgman, Keming Li, Kimberly Grotewold, Marcos Del Hierro, Maria Acevedo-Aquino, Marcus Palmer, Matthew Mangum, Md Rahman, Megan Wise de Valdez, Merritt Rehn-DeBraal, Michael O'Brien, Pablo Calafiore, Richard Delgado, Robert Cavazos, Sandra Lara, Sarah Katz, Sarah Pollock, Scott Gage, Shannon Shen, Thomas Beaumont, Vicky Elias, Vincent Creazzo, Weixing, Zechun Cao

Meeting Called to Order at 11:32am

Approval of Minutes: Joseph Simpson motioned to approve the minutes

- Yes: 17
- No: 0
- Abstain: 1

Administrative Update

- Provost
 - The portal is now opened for secondary reporting
 - Faculty interested in teaching accommodations should contact their Chair and HR.
 - Bill Bush will address bookstore-related questions.
- President
 - Celebrating record of enrollment numbers
 - The President, along with the Provost and the Deans are discussing moving the December graduation to campus.

WAC Writing Fellows Updates by Katherine Bridgman

- Writing Fellow Applications are due September 10th
- New contact person: Marcos Del Hierro

Old Business

- Update on Evaluation of Chairs and Deans ad hoc committee by Megan Wise de Valdez
 - 1. Theresa Garfield stepped down from the committee. Megan Wise de Valdez is the new chair. The committee has not met this academic year yet.

- Update on Faculty Handbook ad hoc committee by Matthew Mangum
 - 2. The first draft has been completed. Faculty has been invited to provide feedback, particularly to the sections on Tenure & Promotion. The plan is to collect feedback and revise the document during September and October; discuss for 30minutes in the November meeting; and vote in December.

New Business

1. Committee Assignments

Senators self-nominated or nominated each other for the following committees. The only committee that exceeded the number of seats available was the Faculty Development and Research committee, whose members were voted on. The rest of the committee nominations were voted as a slate. Matthew Mangum motioned to vote as a slate. Katherine Bridgman seconded it.

- Yes: 18
- No: 0
- Abstain: 0
 - Core Curriculum Committee (chair to be selected)
 - i. Representative: Katherine Bridgman
 - ii. Representative: Megan Wise de Valdez
 - Graduate Council (two-year term)
 - iii. Representative: Katherine Bridgman
 - iv. Representative: Sarah Katz
 - *Faculty Development and Research Committee (three positions voted)
 - v. Member: Ho Huynh
 - vi. Member: Daniel Delgado
 - vii.Member: Amanda Lindner
 - viii.(Candidate not voted): James Finley/Marcos Del Hierro
 - Faculty Compliance and Grievance Committee (one form each academic unit)
 - ix. A&S Member: Sandra Lara,
 - x. E&HD Member: Eunhye Kwon
 - xi. Business Member: Gilbert Barrera

xii.Library Member: Aida Almanza

• Election Committee (one form each academic unit)

xiii.A&S Member: Thomas Beaumont,

xiv.E&HD Member: Maria Acevedo-Aquino

xv. Business Member: Matthew Mangum

xvi.Library Member: Kimberly Grotewold

- University Library Committee (one position) xvii.Representative: April Najjaj
- Parking and Transportation (three positions- A&S, E&HD, & COB) xviii.A&S: Thomas Beaumont xix.E&HB: Sabina deVries

xx.COB: Brandon Earwood

• Ad Hoc Faculty Pay Committee (one from each academic unit)

xxi.A&S: Thomas Beaumont

xxii.E&HB: Karen Kohler

xxiii.COB: Zechun Cao

xxiv.Library: Kimberly Grotewold

• Ad Hoc Faculty Handbook committee

xxv.Chair: Matthew Mangum

xxvi.Joseph Simpson

xxvii.Maria Acevedo-Aquino

xxviii.Leonard Love

xxix.Ho Huynh

xxx.Daniel Delgado

xxxi.Amanda Lindner

- 2. RESOLUTION TO SUPPORT CO-TAUGHT INTERDISCIPLINARY COURSE APPLICATION read by Katherine Bridgman. Ho Huynh seconded motion to discuss.
 - Katherine Bridgman clarified that the course taught will count towards the teaching lead of both professors.
 - Joseph Simpson added that the Provost had fully supported the idea of coteaching. Simpson called for vote on the resolution as read.
 - Yes: 18
 - No: 0
 - Abstain: 0
- 3. Parking-informal discussion lead by Ho Huynh.
 - Several changes have been made to parking passes and parking spaces across campus. What happened to the faculty reserved parking spaces in Lot 2? Were any of these changes brought up to the Faculty Senate?
 - The available information is confusing. For example, some faculty didn't know that buying a parking pass for Lot 2 would allow them to also park in Lot 3. Also, that a parking pass for Lot 1 could also be used in Lots 2 and 3. This specific information is provided after the pass has been purchased.
 - Megan Wise de Valdez inquired about parking spots for electric cars, noticing that currently there are only two spots across campus located in Lot 1.
 - Suggestions to move the conversation forward included:
 - i. Inviting someone from the parking office to the next Faculty Senate meeting.
 - ii. Writing a resolution

The meeting adjourned at 12:54pm.